6 iSchool instructors nominated for UW teaching awards

Information School faculty members Bob Boiko, Mike Doane, Michael Freeman, Ricardo Gomez and Joel Ross, along with doctoral student Kung Jin Lee, are among the nominees for the University of Washington’s 2019 teaching awards.

Each year, the university honors faculty members and teaching assistants for their work with students based on several criteria, including mastery of the subject matter, ability to engage students both in and out of the classroom, and innovations in course and curriculum design.

Doane, Freeman, Gomez and Ross were nominated for Distinguished Teaching Awards; Boiko was nominated for a Distinguished Teaching Award for Innovation with Technology; and Lee was nominated for an Excellence in Teaching Award – a category reserved for graduate instructors.

UW students, staff and faculty nominate teachers they believe are worthy of the award each autumn. After the nomination period, nominees are notified and have until mid-January to submit supporting materials to state their case for the awards. The winners are announced in spring and the awards typically carry a $5,000 prize.