Convocation honors 441 iSchool graduates

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

The iSchool honored 441 graduating students from its undergraduate and graduate programs on Saturday, June 3, at its 2017 Convocation ceremony.

Graduates include 198 earning bachelor’s degrees in Informatics, 130 master’s in Library Science, 101 master’s in Information Management, and a record 12 doctorate degrees in Information Science. Among them, 350 took part in Convocation.

The keynote address was given by Bob Davis, corporate vice president for Skype Business Services and Office 365 Customer Experience at Microsoft Corp. Davis urged graduating students to continue to evolve as technology and the role of data change. “Seize on the opportunities that come your way,” he said.

Ph.D. ConvocationThe 12 students earning their Ph.D. degrees this academic year include Norah Abokhodair, Jared Bauer, Timothy Carlson, Juan-Carlos Chavez, Sheryl Day, Jordan Eschler, Abigail Evans, Philip Fawcett, John Marino Jr., Kristen Shinohara, Katherine Thornton, and Shawn Walker.

Faculty and students presented awards to graduating students from the Informatics, MLIS and MSIM programs.

Faculty awards:

The Ruth Worden Award for Student Excellence in Library and Information Science went to Sarah Carnes. Faculty noted that, “Her passion to serve and help others is reflected in her military service, and now in her work with veterans. This March, Sarah began working full-time as a librarian with the Veteran’s Administration in Bedford, Massachusetts.”

The Faculty Award for Student Excellence in Informatics was presented to Rutvi Patel, whom faculty described as “a thoughtful, engaged, and caring student who has been an excellent student and group member in classes.”

The Faculty Award for Student Excellence in Information Management went to Louis Spinelli. Faculty noted “his work promoting social good, his generous service to various MSIM committees and initiatives and his keen interest in continually improving the program.”

Student awards:

The 21st Century Award (MLIS) went to Sunny Kim. Students said Kim “encapsulates the 21st century librarian in that they're service-oriented and driven to incorporate social justice in all areas of library and information science.”

The Archer Award (MSIM) was presented to Nelson Dsouza for the full-time program and Mindy Messenger for the mid-career program. Dsouza, students said, “has displayed a passion for the Information management field by participating in skill-share workshops, and then leading them himself - through innovation in his thoughts and his actions, and a true passion for all the values that the iSchool holds dear.” Messenger, they said, is “active in her professional career and would always share her knowledge, resources, and connections to help anyone who asked.”

The Eisenberg Award (Informatics) was given to Alex Bell-Towne. Students recognized Bell-Towne, who not only served as a teaching assistant in Informatics classes, but “also spent long hours helping students in classes he isn’t responsible for teaching.”

View our photo gallery from Convocation on our Facebook page.