ASIS&T honors Chirag Shah with research award

Chirag ShahInformation School Professor Chirag Shah is the recipient of this year’s ASIS&T Research in Information Science Award, which recognizes a scholar or team each year for their contributions to the field. 

ASIS&T — the Association for Information Science & Technology — is a community of researchers and practicing professionals advancing the field of information science and technology through their work. Its members share an interest in improving how society manages and disseminates information. 

Shah’s research builds and studies intelligent information systems, focusing on task-oriented search, proactive recommendations, and conventional systems. His work is currently engaged with generative AI and promoting transparency and equity in AI-driven information systems. 

Shah has published nearly 200 peer-reviewed articles and authored seven books, including textbooks on data science and machine learning. He is a distinguished member of the Association of Computing Machinery as well as ASIS&T. 

In addition to his appointment with the UW iSchool, Shah is an adjunct professor with the Allen School of Computer Science and Engineering and the Department of Human-Centered Design and Engineering. He is also the InfoSeeking Lab's founding director and co-director of the Center for Responsibility in AI Systems and Experiences. 

“I am honored and humbled by this recognition,” said Shah. “Scholarship, at least the kind that I have pursued over my career, is a collaborative pursuit and I have been very lucky to have many great collaborators in the forms of mentors, colleagues and students over the years. I’m grateful to ASIS&T and all those collaborators for making this award possible.”

Established in 1984, the Research in Information Science award recognizes an individual or team who has made an outstanding contribution to information science research during their career. A jury of five members chooses the recipient. Shah will receive the award during the 2024 ASIS&T Meeting this fall in Calgary, Alberta, Canada.