UW Libraries award scholarships to 18 iSchool students

Eighteen Information School students are among the 50 recipients of this year’s UW Libraries Student Employee Scholarship.

The recipients will each receive $1,000 through the scholarship, which is funded from a variety of sources including individual donors, the Friends of the UW Libraries, and 14 named scholarship endowments. 

Sixteen of the recipients come from the Master of Library and Information Science program: Andrea Berg, Aaliyah Davis, Courtney Griffin, Sabrina Hsu, Samuel Mintzer, Hannah Morrison, Norah Murphy, Cypress Payne, W. Carrington Powell, Martha Rabura, Connor Austin Franklin Rey, Victoria Isabel Rincon, Giselle Shannon, Sam Stringer, E Swenson and Eli Wachter. One student comes from the Informatics program: Katie Hulst. And one is from the Museology program: Hannah Sutton. 

“Congratulations to all our MLIS student awardees!” said Cindy Aden, teaching professor at the iSchool and MLIS program chair. “The MLIS program values its relationship with UW Libraries and is grateful for how many of our students get mentorship and early professional experience through this invaluable library work.”

The students will be celebrated in an online reception where the scholarship recipients will deliver short speeches and a few will read from their winning essays.