17 iSchool students win UW Libraries scholarships

Seventeen Information School students were among 36 recipients of UW Libraries Student Employee Scholarships, the university has announced.

The winners include 15 students from the iSchool’s Master of Library and Information Science program and two from the Master of Science in Information Management program.

"The UW iSchool so appreciates the strong connection we have with the UW Libraries, from which our students clearly benefit," said Michelle Martin, the iSchool's Beverly Cleary Professor for Children and Youth Services and chair of the MLIS program. "We’re so proud of the MLIS students and delighted that the UW Libraries have chosen to support 15 MLIS students and two MSIM students with scholarships this year."  

The MLIS students include Adylenne Ascencio, Dillon Baker, Bethany Barelman, Joanne Chern, Chun Li, Michelle Li, Margaret Mahoney, Charlotte McGrew, Sarah Meidl, Elexa Moore, Melissa Morgan, Rebecca Reed, Karen Wang, Challen Wright and Elizabeth Yarbrough. The MSIM students are Melissa Anne Henry and Vishwa Pardesi.

The $1,000 scholarships are funded by individual donors, Friends of the UW Libraries, and 14 named scholarship endowments. The winners will be honored at a March 4 reception, at which some of the recipients will read from their winning essays.